Thursday, July 7, 2011

5 Day Inferno Plan Results

So all, I have survived. I consumed half of the calories that I normally do (roughly 1100-1200) and I tried working out to Turbofire. This will be an intense workout program but I am ready for it.

Now on, to my results, I am now 210.6lbs which means that I lost an amazing 6.8lbs. I can not believe it. I am so happy. I spoke to Caleb about it and he said that it looks like I lost some weight. My pants are fitting really nicely and I do not think it will be too long before I am rocking the size 12. My BMI also dropped. I am now 31.9 so I am pleased with that.

Wish me luck. My goal is to average 1800-2000 calories a day so that I can hopefully lose some weight. This is a challenging month in that it is Caleb's birthday so I am making him a cake and we will go out to dinner to celebrate and we are heading off to TN in which I know that we will eat out at least 2 times. As long as I keep pushing myself for the workouts I think I will do well.

Now I get to reward myself with 5 iTunes songs!!! And the great thing with losing 6.8lbs is that I am only 3.2lbs away from achieving a loss of 10lbs which is another reward. Yay!!! Wish me luck and I will check in with you on July 14th. Hopefully there will be less of me.

Saturday, July 2, 2011

My life change for real this time

So here I am once again typing that I want to lose weight and that I will give it my all. Well what the crap is wrong with me in that I stop things. I started P90X with Caleb and completed my 6 days a week faithfully until Monday, June 27. Why did I stop that day, well my unhappiness with the program hit the fan on Sunday. I spoke to Caleb about it and came to the realization that P90X will tone my fat body. I don't want 200lbs of me toned, I want less of me, then toning. So far on P90X my weight loss ranged from 1 to 2 lbs. REALLY?!?!? After almost 2 full months 6 days a week. I was beyond devastated. So on Sunday I looked at other beachbody stuff and got reacquainted with Turbofire. I saw this ad around the start of month 2 but since Caleb and I were staying strong with P90X I decided to continue with it, even though Turbofire had so much that was for me. Dancing, cardio and extreme fat burning. Do not get me wrong, I think P90X is great, I think that it was Step 2 when I desperately needed Step 1. So this week I stopped P90X and feel like a failure that I stopped a program but I have to do what is right for me and P90X is not right for me as of right now. I have seen a change in me though. I can lift more weight than I have before, I know that I loss inches off my body, I was eating healthier and feeling better. I just wanted the weight to drop as well.

This week I researched things about Turbofire and I truly believe that if Caleb and I did the research for P90X we would have saw that it was a step advance for us. Turbofire requires calorie deficit to lose weight. Not rocket science and it is cardio. I am gonna give this program the best of me and to prove it I took a real before picture, granted I am not in my sports bra or a bikini top like they recommended but I am in a tank top in which you can clearly see the fat and I am wearing shorts so you can see my thighs and butt. I also weighed myself, took measurements and calculated via scale my BMI. Let me just say doing all of that has really humbled me and made me even more charged to do this. Granted I was before, but I see my body and the measurements and I am thinking, how did I ever let it get this bad. Food is good, but my health is more important.

Here is the breakdown as of today:

Weight: 217.4 (overweight, my range should be 154-169.4, so I am 47.6lbs overweight)
BMI: 32.4% (obese range, high risk of all health problems, healthy range is 13-24%)
Body Fat: 41.5% (obese, healthy range is 21-33%)
Bone Mass: 6.4 (looked online and saw that the range for me should be 6-6.8%)
Water: 42.4% (online it stated that the range for me should be between 40-60)

Measurements:
Right Arm: 15 Right Thigh: 26.8
Left Arm: 15.5 Left Thigh: 27.4
Belly Button: 42
Chest: 41.4
Fattest part of Belly: 41.5
Hips: 45.5
Pants size: 14
Shirt size: medium but mostly large depending on store

Well that is the breakdown of me. I am not proud that I have gotten this bad, but I know that I can do it. I want to be healthier, and looking at these numbers that is not an option. I have to improve or I get more susceptible to diseases and my knees will continue to hurt me. My body can not continue to carry this extra weight. Wish me luck on my journey. I need to get better with blogging about this, I think if nothing changes that I should not write but in fact that is when I need to write so that I can process what happens.

Goal & Reward Breakdown:
After losing 5 pounds I will purchase 2 songs from iTunes
After losing 10 lbs I will purchase Reds picture of Maggie and I
After losing 15 pounds I will get a manicure
After losing 20 pounds I will purchase a new pair of jeans
After losing 25 lbs I will get a pedicure or my hair done if my toenail has not grown back
After losing 30 pounds I will buy a new iPod
After losing 35 pounds I will get a massage
After losing 40 pounds I will buy 2 new outfits
After losing 45 pounds I will buy 2 new pairs of shoes
After losing 50 pounds I will be at goal weight and I will have a total spa day: manicure, pedicure and hair.

Wish me luck and I will continue to check in on a weekly basis. Today I am starting the Inferno plan for 5 days. This is where I am jump starting my workout and eating right. For the next five days I will eat less and do the Turbofire workouts. I am projected to be complete with this on July 6th at night and I weigh in on the next day which will be Thursday the 7th. At that time I will blog and post updates on weight and measurements. Hopefully I will be able to purchase my first goal reward.

I think it is good to have consequences for weight gain, but not severe. So if at any time I gain weight after a weigh in I have to assess the reason for the weight gain and depending on the reasons walk an extra 30 minutes 2 times a week, lower calories (if necessary) and cut back one hour of tv for 3 days.

Thursday, May 19, 2011

Less of me from initial P90X weight of 219

So I am thinking that I need to weigh myself on Thursdays for now on. The reason why is because I have two different weigh in days and weigh tends to fluctuate and so picking one day will be good. I also say that because Monday is normally my weigh in days because it is the start of the week etc and when I started to do Weight Watchers on the 2nd.

Then Caleb and I were going to start P90X on Saturday the 7th and they said pick a day and weigh yourself. I also chose Thursday because I wanted to really see if my WW diet was making a difference and that is when I got down to 219 a weight loss of 3.8 (woot woot). Then I weighed myself on Monday after my first weekend of P90X and got down one more pound 218 and I was pretty pleased. I did not weigh myself last Thursday because I was at Caleb's and he does not have a scale so I had to wait until Monday and that is when I went back to 219 or 219.6.

Because my initial P90X weight was on a Thursday and was 219 I am just going by 219 as my initial weight at the start of P90X. Every weigh in will be judged by my initial weight of 219. So today my weigh in day and I am 217.6. I did a little jig.

My clothes are fitting better and I am super excited. I am eating so healthly it is kinda crazy. Plenty of times I stopped eating so much because I am full and this is when I am eating chicken or veggies. I am also happy with this weight loss because it just shows that the weight gain from Monday was do to being on my period. Even though intellectually I knew that, it still hurt my feelings on Monday.

So since starting P90X I am not sure how many inches or percentage body fat I have lost, but I do know that I have loss a total of 1.4lbs. I will take that success :)

Monday, May 16, 2011

A bit more of me this week

So today was weigh in morning and let me say I am sadden. At first weigh in I was 219.6 and then I moved the scale to a surface which I thought was flat and I am 219. Either way I gained since last week. I am trying not to get discouraged because I am working out more than I have before, doing new things and I guess I wanted to see some results.

I get easily discouraged and if something does not happen the way I want then I just stop. I think that my diet has been 90% on target. I have been eating meals later, so my metabolism is not going right and ice cream or frozen yogurt is not my friend when I am eating 3 servings in one sitting (in my defense I did that only once).

I am trying to rationalize and am thinking since it is that time of the month is that making a difference? Is that a myth or does menstruating add some water weight? I don't know I just know that after my first week I gained either 1-1.6 pounds and I wanna cry. I talked to Danae about it and she said that her and Matt did this for 60 days and she lost 25lbs. Where is my pounds loss? Do I need to eat more calories, do I need to work out more, or do I just need to chill the freak out?!?!?!

I can say that with this being day 10 I am feeling good mentally (besides this self doubt from weight gain). I don't feel bloated, I feel like I can use more weight and I wore one of my shirts this weekend that fit but a bit tight in the arms, I am happy to say that it fit perfectly. So I will take losing inches. That was a nice victory for me.

Well I will continue on with this journey and hopefully it is just additional water weight. If not I will just continue to monitor but I will not quit.

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

1.2 down for a total of 5lbs!!!

Not even a week later and I am down to 218 which means I lost another 1.2 pounds for a total of 5 lbs since last Monday. I am so happy about that!!!

Caleb and I started P90X on Saturday and oh my goodness. This is gonna be a challenge but in a much needed way. Typically we will do 3 work outs together (Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday) and 3 on our own (except for holidays that fall on a Monday we will do those together).

I am feeling good about what we are doing. I am hoping that we can follow through with this. Between the two of us we know 7 people who have brought P90X and did not finish for a variety of reasons.

We do not want to be included in that number. I think Caleb will motivate me and I will definitely motivate him. We both want to be healthier, get physically fit and just look better. I love this man with my heart and love that we are doing this together. He was so encouragining when we were doing this on Saturday and Sunday.

So this is my first of many blogging about my P90X and weight loss journey.

Thursday, May 5, 2011

Less of me today :)

Hey, I just could not wait to share two good news items. One: I lost 3.8 pounds since Monday. Weight Watchers and just wanting to eat healthy is working. I act as if I am surprised...lol.

Two, Caleb and I are starting P90X on Saturday. I am a little worried because the warm up was so hard that I stopped, but we are encouraging each other and I will give it my all.

That's all for today. I felt like binging on all thing junk food but I was relatively tamed. I ate a second dinner because I was starving and 1 cup of ice cream. I went over my points but I have been working out a lot (i.e. walking to work Mon-Wed).

I am pleased with my results and pray that I can continue on. Thanks and until I write in you again..

Monday, May 2, 2011

What is a girl to do

So depression is starting to set in. I am officially 223 pounds. I have never been so large in my life. My clothes are not fitting very well and let's be honest, I probably look really fat in them also.

So no more complaining I am gonna do something more about it.

My current weight: 222.8lbs
My goal weight: 160lbs
Difference: 62.8lbs
Timeline: ongoing, but I would like to see minimum a five lbs difference every month

Significant timelines:

July 19th which is 12 weeks away and my goal is to be at 202.8lbs, which means that I am aiming to lose 20 lbs. This date is significant because Caleb and I are taking our first vacation alone to TN.

November 5th is 27 weeks away and my goal is to be at 190lbs, which means that I am aiming to lose 12lbs since July 19th with a total loss of 32lbs which will put me more than halfway from my over goal.

To get this accomplished:

I am doing Weight Watchers which will increase my water consumption, taking vitamins again, eating more fruits, veggies and getting appropriate portions.

Caleb and I are starting P90X this month. This will be six days a week for an hour a day along with a diet plan.

I am also walking to work everyday or 3 miles on the days I am unable to walk to work.

Until I get to do P90X I will do my Flat Belly Diet workout tapes 3 days a week.

I constantly need reminders on why am I doing this:






  • Because I am at my all time heaviest




  • My clothes do not fit well




  • Health problems increases with obesity




  • Underwear is getting tighter




  • I have a muffin top which is out of control



So for Weight Watchers my daily point allowance is: 36 points this is very different from when I did the journey 3 years ago. They don't take calories into effect because not all calories are created equal (ain't that the truth), but now they look into carbs and protein in addition to fiber and fat which they have had previously.

So wish me luck in this journey. I will need it, I will do my best to keep the blog updated.

Sunday, April 17, 2011

Wow it has been several pounds and weeks later

Hi, I am back. I have gained a lot of weight because of poor eating and not exercising well. I started out on this journey feeling overweight but confident that I can do well. Today I weighed myself and I jumped back up to 218. I think this is the biggest I have been in over a year. I look back on my year compared to last year. This time last year I was always at the gym working it out and getting in shaped for the 1/2 marathon. My relationship with Caleb was fresh and not serious so we did not talk everyday. I think I was making more efforts to eat better.

Fast forward to now I am not working out as much or as long as I was. I talk to Caleb everyday, I eat poorly and go out way too much. How can I stop this vicious cycle? My clothing is starting to feel tighter, my stomach is looking large because it is larger and I am not loving my body. Caleb still tells me I am attractive and he loves my body and I think that because I have this great guy who is faithful and loves me that I don't care how I look but I do not want to go up to a size 16 but my 14 is getting really out of control. To top it off I am working on my dissertation so I am finding it hard to have time for everything.

What has been helping is that Caleb and I have started walking/hiking over the weekends for about an hour but I think I need to be doing something more. I don't want to keep gaining weight and I know I need to make better choices for health and financial reasons. I guess 2010 was my year for new love and now 2011 is my year to get financially and physically in shape. I am making this vow that I will work out more, incorporate strength training and eat better. Today is a new day and I am ready for this life long program. Wish me luck and hopefully their will be less of me next time.

Monday, January 24, 2011

Week 2: 4 lbs down and 25 more weeks til TN :)

So I weighted myself and the scale said 207.2. I hope that my initial weight of 211 was right because at the lowest weight was 206 so if it was 211 I lost 4lbs but if not I gained 1.

I tried eating right and for a bit I did lower my calorie intake and I worked out 4 out of 5 times. One day I could not work out at the gym so I did a video at home. It was better than nothing but not close to the 600 plus calories I have burned while working out.

I am feeling optimistic about my journey. I hope that I can continue on with the path I am on. I am trying to get my TN body by July 19, 2011. That being said, I have less than 6 months to get in gear. In 6 months I would like to be at 185lbs. I do think that this is realistic because that would mean I need to drop 22 more pounds. Further breakdown is roughly a pound a week and with 25 more weeks until vacation, I can hopefully achieve this.

I will keep checking in with you ol'bloggie and hopefully next week there will be less than me.

Sunday, January 16, 2011

Week 1 of my life long journey

So today is January 16, 2010 and as of today my scale gave me 3 different weights. I decided to put the highest weight given and it is from this weight that all of my tracking will take place. As of today I am 211lbs. I know that this weight is drastically high but I am happy to report that my all time high of 218 was last year and thankfully I did not gain all of that back.

I was doing well with working out at the gym, training for my 1/2 marathon and weight lifting. But with getting injured, having three jobs and spending so much time with Caleb I really have not had enough time to work out as much as I need to. But this is my way of keeping track and keeping myself accountable.

My goal is to write in this at least once a week to track my weight and my progress. I am going to start eating 1600 calories/day, work out 4 days a week and incorporate more water, fruits and veggies into my diet. Well I need to not call it diet, but my life change plan.

So here is me at 211 and hoping to get down to my height appropriate weight which according to Weight Watchers is 134-164. That means I need to lose 47 pounds. So to make a huge goals like this I must be specific..so here goes.

1. Work out at the gym Sunday, Tuesday & Thursdays.
2. Go running on Saturdays
3. Weight lift and Flat Belly Diet DVD on Sunday, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturday.
4. Eat 1600 calories a day, my goal is to have a larger lunch.
5. Plan out my meals every Sunday and cook it also.
6. Weigh myself every Sunday and once I do that, blog.
7. After every 5lbs lost get a redbox movie to celebrate.

Well here is goes..wish me luck and the ability to do this successfully.